Bono wins the 2021 2022 Trofeo Ricardo Zamora

Goalkeepers are a special breed of human. They are the last line of the defence, the unsung heroes and arguably the most important position on the pitch. While the forwards tend to grab the headlines, it’s often the goalkeepers’ saves that keep their team in the game.

At we salute the daring ones. We champion the brave and applaud the gutsy. 

History of the Trofeo Ricardo Zamora

The Trofeo Zamora, established in 1929 celebrates the LaLiga goalkeeper with the least goals conceded to games ratio. It was named after Ricardo Zamora, who won the inaugural award playing between the sticks for Espanyol in 1929. The newspaper MARCA runs the award since 1958, award and today, a goalkeeper needs to have played at least 28 league games to be eligible for the award. The maths behind the ratio is simple. Just Divide the number of goals he conceded, by the number of matches played. 

Bonou’s impressive season in LaLiga 

Last season, Sevilla’s Yassine Bonou impressed us all with the lowest goals to games ratio, and he scooped his maiden Trofeo Zamora. Sevilla enjoyed a brilliant season, clinching fourth spot, qualification for the UEFA Champions League, and this trophy is the icing on Bono’s cake. It is the first time a Sevilla goalkeeper has won the award, and his ratio of 0.77 LaLiga goals conceded on average is an impressive figure. Bravo Bono!

Previous winners of the Trofeo Ricardo Zamora

The Spanish league is ultra-competitve, and the list of previous winners of the Trofeo Zamora contains some big names including five-time winners Antoni Ramallets, Víctor Valdés and Jan Oblak. Atlético Madrid goalkeeper Oblak still holds the record for the lowest goals to games ratio, registering a score of just 0.47 in the 2015/16 LaLiga campaign. 

As ever, couldn’t be prouder of partners Sevilla, and this trophy was a brilliant reason to get Fan Token holders involved. One lucky $SEVILLA Fan Token holder handed the Trofeo Zamora to Bono, got to meet the magical Moroccan and left the training ground with a grin from ear to ear! This was a Money Can’t Buy Experience only available to $SEVILLA Fan Token holders which put the fan at the centre of the beautiful game. 

Previous 10 Trofeo Ricardo Zamora winners

2012 -13 Thibaut Courtois Club Atlético de Madrid

2013 -14 Thibaut Courtois Club Atlético de Madrid

2014 -15 Claudio Bravo F.C Barcelona

2015 – 16 Jan Oblak Club Atlético de Madrid

2016 – 17 Jan Oblak Club Atlético de Madrid

2017 – 18 Jan Oblak Club Atlético de Madrid

2018 -19 Jan Oblak Club Atlético de Madrid

2019-20 Thibaut Courtois Real Madrid

2020-21 Jan Oblak Club Atlético de Madrid in the Spanish League loves LaLiga and partners six clubs from the top division and works closely with LaLiga to ensure fans have the opportunity to get closer to the game.

The Trofeo Zamora is what is all about, saluting the heroes on the pitch, and the legends off it!

Get your $SEVILLA Fan Token and get closer to your LaLiga teams and your dreams with 

Share this article

Table Of Contents

Read more of our articles

No related posts found.

Select Language

Table Of Contents